Leave a comment

Staff Spotlight: PJ Mazza

Patrick (PJ) Mazza

There has been a lot of talk about Atlas Travel’s growth this year, and we have been tremendously excited to announce our technology partnerships and service advancements throughout 2012. Still, the story we are proudest to tell is always that of our talented staff, which has grown a lot with our expansion this year.

Take a moment to learn more about Patrick (PJ) Mazza, a 2012 addition to our team and the new director of business development for Atlas Travel in the Midwest. Click here to view our formal press release about hiring PJ in August, and learn more about his perspective on the industry, our company and his region below.

Q: You have joked that you “grew up in the travel industry.” Can you briefly explain what that means to you and what you bring to the table in the Midwest market as part of Atlas Travel’s expansion?

A: When I said that I grew up in the travel industry, I literally meant it. When I was younger, my grandfather had IVI Travel. I spent lots of time at his office, usually just walking around causing mischief, but that’s where it all started. When my father started Bannockburn Travel, I used to love going to talk with all the agents and considered them part of my extended family. It’s been a part of my life since I can remember and still view this industry like a tightly knit little family. There have been so many people over the years I’ve gotten to know, learn and grow from who are still very active to this day. These relationships and trust that I’ve built over the years will no doubt help me during the development of the Midwest region. There is still a lot of work to be done and I look forward to it each and every day! It’s nice to know I have that support.

Q: Having been with Atlas for a few months now, what differentiators do you see at this company versus others in the industry? What does this mean for Atlas Travel’s presence in the Midwest?

A: One of the differences that I see and really enjoy at Atlas is the daily involvement from the top down. Knowing that we have that kind of support and visibility behind us is a great feeling to have. I also love the daily interaction with all the departments within Atlas. Whether it’s an implementation call, IT support or just getting something answered internally, I can always call somebody to talk.  It’s no longer what I call the “on hold” approach of “Your call or request will be answered in the order it was received.” I love the human interaction and definitely don’t miss the automated approach to service. The true hands-on approach we take internally and externally will be very well received in the Midwest.

Q: What are three words you would use to describe Atlas Travel and why?

A: Necessary: To echo a little from what I previously said, this industry and the market we target need companies like Atlas now, more than ever. At the end of the day, with all the technology and automation available, I still believe people like to do business with people. And I believe Atlas has the people to get the job done right.

Patient: I’ve been here for a few months and have seen some pretty amazing things. I’ve witnessed the consultative approach we take with each client and it’s exactly what I’d hoped for when I took the position with Atlas. It’s nice to see our people taking the time to know the client and truly want to understand their needs. It’s what makes companies in this industry successful.

Maturing: As Atlas continues to mature and grow as a company, it’s our willingness to evolve and adapt to this industry that will no doubt help pave the way for our continued success. We don’t pretend to be a company we’re not, and we’re proud to partner with clients who can see and appreciate the value of working with a great company like Atlas.

Many thanks to PJ for taking the time to talk with us, and we will continue to meet and greet our staff (new and old) in the coming weeks.

Do you represent a company in the Midwest? We would love to talk to you about your travel management and how we can help. To learn more about what Atlas Travel can bring to you, your staff and your business, contact PJ directly at patrick.mazza@atlastravel.com.

Leave a Reply

